Red

Red - 1

Terry Tempest Williams’ book has accompanied me for part of my transcontinental journey across the USA. I found it in a bookshop in Wooster, Ohio and it has stayed with me now that we have reached the Pacific coast. She lives in and writes about the southern Utah desert; red being the predominant colour of the landscape. Our journey was limited to passing through northern Utah but I certainly want to explore the southern canyons at some point. At various points in our journey the landscape was red but only briefly, before the geology changed and in Northern Utah the white of salt is predominant. Much of the land in the American West is in public hands as protected wilderness and this brings tensions with those individuals trying to eke out a living in and alongside this environment where only small amounts of the territory are in private hands. This is unlike national parks in the UK, where people do live and work. She explores the meaning of wilderness to herself, others she knows and also to the Navajo and other tribes of the surrounding area. Her discussions around the language of the colour chime with my interest as an artist. This book will stay with me and I hope return to Utah with me one day.

About Carol Henshaw

I am a retired medic & academic who volunteers in this bookshop. I love books, travelling, photography, painting and printing, all sorts of music (choral singing now & hope to take up the saxophone), gardening and natural history, arts & crafts, hanging out with old friends and making new ones.
This entry was posted in natural history, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

