Story of the Heavens

Astronomy was on my mind last night as I attempted to photograph the full ‘strawberry’ moon which has coincided with the summer solstice for the first time in 50 years. The name was coined by the Algonquin tribes of North America who believed June’s full moon signalled the beginning of the strawberry picking season. It certainly has for me as I picked the first few alpine strawberries yesterday. Unfortunately there was too much cloud  in the evening and the moon disappeared behind it. Apparently I will have to wait until June 21, 2062 to see it again if I will live long enough.

I found this book by Sir Robert Stawell Hall some time ago. It was published in 1893 and has chapters on the astronomical observatory, the sun, moon, solar system, gravitation. the planets (excluding pluto which had yet to be discovered), stars and much more. It has wonderful marbled endpapers, numerous black and white drawings and charts and a few colour plates. It is quite beautiful and I will keep dipping into it for some time to come.IMG_0362Saturn 21 Jun 2016-1IMG_0367

About Carol Henshaw

I am a retired medic & academic who volunteers in this bookshop. I love books, travelling, photography, painting and printing, all sorts of music (choral singing now & hope to take up the saxophone), gardening and natural history, arts & crafts, hanging out with old friends and making new ones.
This entry was posted in science & technology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

