Zoology textbook from 1930

One of my current photography projects is documenting the natural history of our garden. Natural history has been an interest of mine since childhood so this does not come as a surprise to those who know me. I can identify easily the mammals and birds who visit and most of the plants and trees, aided by a fairly extensive library accumulated over the years but am less good at naming all the invertebrates. This book came into the shop a couple of weeks ago and will be a useful addition as it is the volume in a series dedicated to invertebrates.

Intro to Nature study 1 Feb 2016 (1 of 1)Intro to Nature study drawing 21 Feb 2016 (1 of 1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was first published in 1913 and I have the 1930 reprint. The drawings are at times more helpful in identification than some of my more recent texts and there are practical tips for the zoology student in finding and studying different species. I hope that as the weather improves in spring, I will be outside with my camera adding to the shots I already have.

About Carol Henshaw

I am a retired medic & academic who volunteers in this bookshop. I love books, travelling, photography, painting and printing, all sorts of music (choral singing now & hope to take up the saxophone), gardening and natural history, arts & crafts, hanging out with old friends and making new ones.
This entry was posted in antiquarian, natural history and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zoology textbook from 1930

  1. dyane says:

    With all our advanced, sleek technology, I think that many times older books are so much easier to follow. Glad that gem found its way to the shop

    Can’t wait for Spring’s arrival & your photos – it’s starting to feel like the seasons are changing around here, and the cherry trees are in bloom (pink & white).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

